Skip to main content

Students Earn 2019 Texas Youth Creators Awards

Posted Date: 05/09/2019

Students Earn 2019 Texas Youth Creators Awards

The La Joya ISD Library Services and Instructional Resources Department entered 229 entries this academic year to The Texas Youth Creators Awards, previously named the Texas Media Awards.   67% of the students placed and were awarded 1st, 2nd, 3rdand/or Honorable Mention Recognition. 

Congratulations to Rosendo Benavides Elementary, Lloyd Bentsen Elementary, Enrique Camarena Elementary, Narciso Cavazos Elementary, Elodia R. Chapa Elementary, Kika de la Garza Elementary, Jose de Escandon Elementary, Evangelina Garza Elementary, John F. Kennedy Elementary, Dr. Palmira Mendiola Elementary, Patricio Perez Elementary, Sam Fordyce Elementary, Emiliano Zapata Elementary, Cesar Chavez Middle School, Lorenzo de Zavala Middle School, Memorial Middle School, Dr. Javier Saenz Middle School, Juan de Dios Salinas Middle School, Domingo Treviño Middle School, Juarez-Lincoln High School, La Joya High School, Palmview High School and Jimmy Carter Early College for their students, teachers and Librarians accomplishments.

97 students were bused on April 18thto Austin, Texas to the Texas Library Association Conference Award Ceremony to receive their awards with their Librarians who accompanied them.  Parents also traveled to the event to attend with their children.  

These projects promote excellence in amateur media production and its importance in life-long learning. Moreover, La Joya High School students from Mr. Mark Bullard class Audio/Video Technology II and Practicum:  Christopher Mares, Simon Salinas, Brizza Garza, Oliver Treviño and Angela Mata received The Bob Bennett Best of Show 2019 for their production, Elias.