Skip to main content

LJISD Parent Volunteers Receive State Recognition

Posted Date: 10/17/2018

LJISD Parent Volunteers Receive State Recognition


Fifteen volunteers (from across Texas) who have collectively donated 223 years of service to Texas public schools, received the Heroes for Children award this past September 14th from the State Board of Education (SBOE).


Two of those recipients were from La Joya ISD: Ms. Mirthala Vazquez, from Irene Garcia Middle School, and Ms. Elvia Olivarez, from Kika De La Garza Elementary, were recognized by the State Board of Education for their service, effort and dedication to La Joya ISD students. Both nominees received an individual plaque recognizing their service, a copy of the resolution schedule for board approval, and photographs commemorating the ceremony. 


Mirthala Vazquez has been a school volunteer for seven years and is as a strong advocate, leader, and supporter of La Joya ISD and the Palmview area. She serves on the Superintendent’s Parent Roundtable, the District Site-Based Decision-Making Committee, as well as the Parent Advisory Committees at the middle school and high school levels. Vazquez also serves on the school heath advisory council and has become an important liaison between the school and the parent community. 


Elvia Olivarez has volunteered at La Joya ISD for 12 years. She has found volunteering to be a joyful experience as she enjoys working on school events, such as middle school mini proms, making homecoming mums for student council nominees, and raising funds for football and wrestling teams. She also serves on the District Advisory Committee, the Superintendent’s Parent Roundtable, and is the current president of the Parent Advisory Committee. 


Their commitment has been to serve all schools in La Joya ISD and especially take pride in serving our students. La Joya ISD is so proud to have dedicated and hardworking volunteers walking the halls of our district, and we Congratulate Ms. Vazquez and Ms. Olivarez for their well-deserved state recognition!