This year, the Association for Migrant Educators of Texas (AMET) has acknowledged three La Joya ISD employees who will be honored during the annual state conference.

Though others have been selected in the past, this is the first year La Joya ISD wins 3 out of 5 categories the association awards to educators in the entire state.

Mr. Jose R. Flores, Migrant Education Program (MEP) Director at La Joya ISD, will be presented with the 2015 AMET Administrator Award.

With over 22 years of educational experience, Flores heads one of the largest populations of migrant students in the Rio Grande Valley – and in the state of Texas. On his 8th year as director, Flores has run the program with integrity, transparency, and is one to always lead by example.

“This recognition is a reflection of the team – the entire migrant department. From the office staff to the classroom, everyone plays an important role in the success of our program,” stated Flores.

AMET has also awarded Mrs. Viola Canales with the 2015 Educator Award.

Currently serving our district for over 43 years, Mrs. Canales takes on many roles as she works with the challenges that migrant students face each day. And as a former counselor, she utilizes her skills to provide support and opportunities for the students she services.

“I first see my students as children in need of direction and guidance,” says Canales. “… and I’d like to think that what I do truly makes a difference in their lives.”

Third, the 2015 AMET Recruiter Award is being bestowed upon Ms. Silvia Chapa, who is a 35 year veteran at La Joya ISD.

Ms. Chapa is familiar with the families in her area and can remember addresses and names without hesitation. She actively monitors that the migrant students at her campus are always equipped with school supplies and is quick to advocate for families in need of assistance. It is because of her reliability and consistency that she has rightfully earned this award.

A special thank you to Mr. Arturo Figueroa, MSSW, La Joya ISD Social Worker for nominating the winners and congratulations to the honorees for their distinguished awards.

Picture left to right: Viola Canales, Jose R. Flores, Silvia Chapa